my digital nationalism

looking for Indonesia's significance on the web

Product Idea: Custom Retail Search Engine

leave a comment »

Following up from my last post I’ve been thinking about how to solve the problem in Indonesia of not being able to get quality information on products using search engines fast enough. In order to solve this I’ve tried creating a targeted search engine.

Using google custom search I’ve created a custom search engine targeted at local Indonesian retailers. The idea here is to find what you are looking for fast. So for instance, instead of googling for “beli blackberry gemini” and having to sift through irrelevant search results to get to the retail site, I bypass this process completely by specifically targeting the search to known local retail sites. So I can get to sites that I know are reliable and get information of what I am looking for quick and easy.

So here it goes.

Clicking on the image above will send you to the custom search engine page. I’m sorry I had to go this way, I just couldn’t figure out how to elegantly show the custom search bar on my blog post. Maybe someone out there can help me with this. I guess I’ll google around some more and if I find a solution I’ll go back and fix this.

Here are screenshots for the different search results using the same terms. The search term we use here is “hp nokia”

These are the results from normal google:

 

And these are the search results from my google custom search engine:

 

The results from my targeted search engine are much more focused, showing links directly to retail sites blibli.com, berniaga.com, tokobagus.com, and glodokshop.com. The results from normal google showed links to nokia indonesia’s website, a nokia phone price directory, and a blog post about nokia. If I was looking to purchase something I’d have to go deeper to find the links to the major retail sites.

So there we have it. What do you think?

 

P.S.: Credit to Netty Gritty for the google custom search image I used above. Here is the original post where it came from.

Written by randomwalls

March 28, 2012 at 5:10 am

Leave a Reply

